Dubai: incomprehensible Brits

Dubai 2014

4. Language barriers: as ever, the difficulties of communicating in foreign parts. Which should be stripped if you’re in a country whose adopted first language is English. In Russia I would often have to formulate sentences in my head before saying them, and then mentally prepare myself for the dreaded word ‘What?!?’ In Dubai, the same happened. Simple, short sentences were key. At least I sounded sophisticated and eloquent without trying; I would hear things like ‘I love your accent but I have no idea what you’re saying.’ So after I thought I’d botched a business meeting, I still got to hear ‘I was very impressed with the way you talk’ at the end of it. This miscommunication is due to:

5. Multiculturalness: even as a child living in such places, (in my case, Singapore) you are very aware of racial distinctions. As the stereotypes go, the Indians are the construction workers, the Brits are the drunken and disorderly (and simultaneously well spoken and sophisticated), the Filipinos are cleaners etc. In my local supermarket of Spinneys (which has a licensing agreement with Waitrose) you could even get Jamie Oliver pasta sauce. Once at the checkout I heard a Brit exclaim with astonishment as he realised the person behind him was also a Brit. He clearly hadn’t been in Dubai very long.

6. Sharia law: this means no shouting ‘sexy lady’ across the road, no goodnight kisses at your door, chicken sausage and turkey bacon. The great thing about the law though is that it’s very safe for women to walk about on their own without fear of cat calling or harassment. I read an article about how the Arabs in their big white SUVs have developed a new tactic of hitting on women on the street: by throwing pieces of paper with their phone numbers at them. So all this means that hotels become vice central, as they’re some of the very few places that have pork, alcohol/rowdy behaviour licenses. Which leads to:

7. Brunch: as a phenomenon only available in cosmopolitan places such as Singapore and Dubai, it’s not an experience to be missed. For a cover charge (ranging from roughly £30 to £100) you have unlimited access to food and beverage for approximately 4 hours. For Brits who love drinking and bargain hunting, it’s the perfect combination. I experienced two at the lower and higher ends of the scale, from a pub-style ‘Double Deckers’ serving English Roast to a more sophisticated and child-friendly continental buffet with lobster, peach mojitos and live music. These epic hours usually end in one of two ways: a food coma and fatigue, or absolute drunkenness that must be obliged with a night out.

Leave a comment